Call for Papers

The 6th International Workshop on Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video (NOSSDAV 96)

April 23 - 26, 1996
Shonan Village International Conference Center, Zushi, Japan


The 6th International Workshop on Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video (NOSSDAV 96) is the international workshop among active researchers and practitioners who are building innovative multimedia systems, networks and applications. While we will focus on the state of the art technology in networking and operating system support for multimedia systems, we will also seek for practitioners' papers from a variety of area, including media toolkit, mobile communications, VR, real-time systems, software agents, digital library, and distributed computing systems. It is also intended to provide extensive discussion periods during the workshop to discuss the important issues which may require future research. Relevant topics for the workshop include:


Two types of submissions are solicited: position papers and research papers. For the purpose of paper review, position papers are restricted to three single-spaced ASCII pages. Research papers are restricted to an extended abstract no longer than five formatted postscript pages. Papers should be electronically mailed to

Only if electronic submission is impossible, papers may be sent to the following e-mail address.

Prof. Hideyuki Tokuda
Keio University, 5322 Endoh, Fujisawa, Japan 252
Phone: +81-466-47-5000 (wait for 2 sec. then 3129)
Fax: +81-466-47-0835
The proceedings of the workshop will be published by Springer-Verlag and the best papers will be forwarded to selected journals for publication.

Important Dates

Submission Deadline 1/5/96
Acceptance Notification 2/12/96
Final Paper Due 3/18/96
Workshop: 4/23/96-4/26/96

Program Chair:

Hideyuki Tokuda, Keio University/Carnegie Mellon University

Program Committee:

Domenico Ferrari, University of California, Berkeley
Simon Gibbs, Univ. of Geneva, Switzerland
Riccardo Gusella, HP Labs
Ralf Herrtwich, IBM Creative Multimedia Studios
Jung-kook Hong, IBM, Japan
Andy Hopper, Olivetti & University of Cambridge
Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Jim Kurose, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Aurel Lazar, Columbia University
T.D.C. Little, Boston University
Derek McAuley, Cambridge University
Duane Northcutt, Sun Microsystems Laboratories
Guru Parulkar, Washington University
Steve Pink, Swedish Institute of Computer Science
Radu Popescu-Zeletin, GMD-FOKUS
Ragunathan Rajkumar, Carnegie Mellon University
P. Venkat Rangan, University of California, San Diego
Jon Rosenberg, Bell Communications Research
Doug Shepherd, Lancaster University
Cormac Sreenan, AT&T Bell Laboratories
Jean-Bernard Stefani, France Telecom/CNET
Jay Strosnider, Carnegie Mellon University
Daniel Swinehart, Xerox PARC
Jon Walpole, Oregon Graduate Institute of Science & Technology
Hiroshi Yasuda, NTT, Japan

Publicity Chair

Tatsuo Nakajima, JAIST, Japan

Publishing Chair

Shuich Oikawa, Keio University, Japan

Local Arrangement Chair and Finance Chair

Akira Nambu, NTT, Japan