The 10th International Workshop on
Network and Operating Systems
Support for Digital Audio and Video
26-28 June 2000
Chapel Hill, North Carolina


The 10th International Workshop on Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video (NOSSDAV'00) will be held in Chapel Hill, North Carolina in June'2000. This workshop brings together researchers, developers, and practitioners from academia and industry to discuss the state of the art in networking and operating systems to support multimedia applications. For nine years, NOSSDAV has proven to be an outstanding forum for researchers involved in building innovative multimedia systems, networks and applications in both industry and academia.

A key aspect of the workshop is that it provides extensive discussion periods during which attendees can informally discuss their current work and future research directions. Traditionally, NOSSDAV has emphasized high quality experimental research based on prototype or real systems. NOSSDAV2000 will continue this tradition.


Submissions are sought in any area related to Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video. The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

We solicit submissions of 5-page extended abstracts of technical papers, work-in-progress reports, and position statements. These submissions will be reviewed by the members of the program committee. Submissions will be selected on the basis of their potential to provoke discussion and the novelty of the ideas.

Accepted FULL papers and position statements will be presented at the Workshop and will appear in the published proceedings. Roughly half of the workshop presentations will be allocated to each of these categories.

All submissions must be made through the web. We suggest that authors use the two-column IEEE format for the submissions. To submit a paper, click here. If web-based submission is not possible, please send mail to to arrange for an alternative.

Important Dates

Submission Deadline for All Submissions:             7 April 2000
Acceptance Notification:                               19 May 2000
Workshop:                                           26-28 June 2000

NOSSDAV2000 Organizing Committee

Program Chairs

     Kevin Jeffay, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
     Harrick Vin, The University of Texas at Austin

Program Committee

     Kevin Almeroth, University of California, Santa Barbara
     Richard Black, University of Glasgow, UK
     Wu-chi Feng, Ohio State University
     Jim Griffioen, University of Kentucky, USA
     Sugih Jamin, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
     Charles Kalmanek, AT&T Labs Research
     Dilip Kandlur, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
     Robin Kravets, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
     Ian Leslie, Cambridge University, UK
     Brian Levine, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
     Ketan Mayer-Patel, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
     Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
     Jason Nieh, Columbia University
     Duane Northcutt, Sun Microsystems
     Venkat Padmanabhan, Microsoft Research
     Injong Rhee, North Carolina State University
     Timothy Roscoe, Sprint Advanced Technology Labs
     Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University
     Prashant Shenoy, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
     Doug Shepherd, Lancaster University, UK
     Raj Yavatkar, Intel

Prashant Shenoy
Last modified: Tue Jul 18 00:02:33 EDT 2000